National Forest Board

The prime role of the Board is to advise the Minister for Forests on forest policies and legislation and give directions to the National Forest Service through the Managing Director consistent with the objectives of achieving sustainable forest management.

The National Forest Board (NFB) is assisted by specialist advisory committees and Provincial Forest Management Committees (PFMCs) for each province. PNG has twenty-one (21) provinces thus an equivalent number of PFMCs exist.

The Board is established under Section 9 of the Forestry Act, 1991 (as amended) and is empowered to carry out all functions and objectives, manage the affairs, and exercise the powers of the Authority.

The number and composition of the Board members have changed since coming into effect of the Act in 1992 and it now has ten (10) members; five are ex-officio members; Managing Director for National Forest Service, Secretary for National Planning & Monitoring, Managing Director for Conservation & Environment Protection Authority, President of the PNG Forest Industries Association Inc and President of the Association of Foresters. The other five members represent the other major stakeholders of the forest sector namely Provincial & Local Level Governments, Landowners, Women, the Civil Society, and the Minister.

The 5 non-ex-officio members are nominated by relevant agencies and endorsed by the National Executive Council (NEC) and the Head of State appoints them upon recommendation from NEC. Notification of appointment must be gazetted.



E-mail:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Phone: +675 3277 800

Fax: +675 325 4433

P.O. Box 5055, Boroko, NCD